Home Again, Home Again

Screen Shot 2013-01-30 at 1.49.58 PMI’ve just gotten back from a weekend at MMEA, or the Missouri Music Educators Association Conference. Earlier this year, I auditioned and was accepted to play for the Missouri All-State Orchestra. It was such an honor to be there. I made new friends, had an incredible musical experience with great players and phenomenal conductors/educators, and learned that I have the ability to follow my dream. Playing from 7 in the morning to midnight every day taught me that I CAN do it. It’s tough, but possible.

With the All-State Orchestra, I played Shostakovitch’s Festive Overture, a commissioned piece called “Seven Happy Years” by Steve Melilo, and Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition. We played two of three pieces with antiphonal brass, which brought the house down. There were a thousand people in the audience and not one said that they couldn’t hear the finale. Wow.

I also played with the Youth Symphony of Kansas City’s Symphony Orchestra at MMEA as well. We played a fantastic concert with a repertoire list of Glinka’s Russlan and Ludmilla, Liszt’s Les Preludes, and Copland’s Hoe-Down. I had such an incredible time!

Here is my message to everyone: Don’t ever think you can’t do something. Just keep working as hard as you can, and truly, good things will come. I can now say that from experience.

p.s. I also went to courtwarming the second I got home from MMEA. Kind of a let down after such a great experience, but I had a killer dress. Screen Shot 2013-01-30 at 1.50.29 PM

Leave a Reply

