Thanks for the Memories

Oddly enough, I’m not listening to Fall Out Boy. Though there’s no saying that it won’t come up on shuffle, I made the above statement for a different reason.

Today is, obviously, Thanksgiving. We had our family dinner at my cousin’s house, and I’ve been looking forward to the food (that is now sitting in my stomach like a rock) for a week. But before we ate, my grandmother said a prayer. I didn’t get to hear much of it. Usually, we go around the circle and all say what we’re thankful. We didn’t do that this year. So, because I can’t share it with my family personally, I’d like to share what I’m thankful for with everyone reading.

1. My parents and family. They’re always supporting everything I do, and loving me for wanting to do it. I’m so happy I have the parents that I do, and my quirky sisters too. I love them all to pieces.

2. Having a healthy body. Though I have sporadic hiccups and I know I can always improve my shape, I have no health problems or concerns. I have a low chance of getting cancer, and the eating habits of my family have made it so I can enjoy life without being limited by my body.

3. All of my friends. I’ve made so many good friends this year, and I’ve realized the kind of people I like to be around because of them. I have so much fun with them and I hope that they have fun with me.

4. My location. Recently I’ve been thinking about the various turmoil occurring in other countries, and I realized just how lucky we are to live where we do as people of the United States. Yes, we have a crappy economy and jacked up priorities, but in reality, we are so, so privileged.

5. Music. I would not be who I am without it. That’s all there is to it.

6. The ability to read. At the moment I’m learning French, and I’ve realized how much we take for granted knowing how to read once you’ve been submerged in an environment where you can read a very small quantity.

7. All of the good times that I’ve had. Sometimes, memories are the best things someone can give you. You can lose pictures, gifts and Facebook posts, but you can never lose a memory if it’s dear to you.

8. Lastly, I am thankful for opportunity. The opportunity to do what I dream of doing, the opportunity to love people, the opportunity to experience life and its wonderful beings.

Take a second to think about what you’re thankful for, and remember moments you’ve had with your family that you may forget later on. You may realize some things about yourself.

Happy turkey day.

AtMM

One thought on “Thanks for the Memories

  1. Marly says:

    I’m thankful for you too! Love this post!

Leave a Reply

