My Home Away from Home

As most of you know, I am a complete and utter nerd.

And I take pride in it.

Now, nerds come in different varieties. There can be science nerds, chess nerds, music nerds, etc. Or, you could be a little more specific. For instance, robotics nerds, video game nerds, microbiology nerds, or physics nerds.

And I- dun dun dun…- am a rocket/space nerd.

I don’t even remember how it got started. It just happened… that fateful 4th grade year when we first learned about the planets, that moment in my ten year old life, I knew what I wanted to do with the rest of my life. I wanted to be an astronaut.

So at that same time, my mom had learned from a colleague of hers that there was a camp in Huntsville, Alabama that was all about rockets, space, the history of NASA, and learning how to train as an astronaut. Obviously, the name of this place was Space Camp.

I begged my mom for weeks, trying to persuade her in little ways and big ways ;). She talked it over with my dad and a few other people that she trusted, and I patiently (pshaw!) awaited the verdict. And… in just a few months my mom would send me on a plane to Alabama!

Space Camp was the best experience of my life. That first year I met great friends, and for many years to come I met great friends with similar interests as well. Not only that, but I learned so much from what we did there, and it drove me more than ever to become an astronaut.

My third year there was amazing. I had the best counselors that I’d ever had, John and Jerrod (but don’t forget Josh in year 4!), I was commander on our shuttle mission, and at the end, I received the Right Stuff award out of all the campers. (this is me after camp ended standing in front of the Lunar Excursion Module, I was 12)

This weekend I make my fifth journey back to my home away from home. (So now you know why I won’t be posting for a week) I’m extremely excited! You have NO idea. Space Camp is my favorite place on the planet. 😉 It’s based at the U.S. Space and Rocket Center and Davidson Center, close to the Marshall Space Flight Center. There are so many things that I learn there, and so many amazing experiences. If you EVER get the opportunity to go to Space Camp, or even just visit the museums, don’t pass it up. You’ll never forget it.

AtMM

One thought on “My Home Away from Home

  1. Marly says:

    You have no idea how proud it makes me feel to offer you the opportunity for you to go to space camp. And I’m so glad we did the roadtrip this year. It’s been a blast (oops, pardon the pun). mom

Leave a Reply

