Facebook- Where Has the Time Gone?

Facebook: An epic time waster. It’s so boring that we want more… and more…and more of it, consuming so much time that it puts time itself in a frame of one hour real time equals about 5 minutes Facebook time. We get so sucked in that we have no idea how much time has passed… and those are hours that we’ll never get back. What productive things could you do in one hour? You could maybe do homework for once, maybe start learning an instrument, spend time with the family, go on a bike ride, plant a tree, heck, even play video games for all I care. I’ve been doing a little bit of research, and a lot of websites and people say that teens who use Facebook regularly become more depressed. They see everyone on Facebook as having perfect lives, which makes them think that their lives are that much worse. Not to mention that the average teenager has 200-500 “friends” on Facebook. Our definition of friend is becoming more and more loose, almost as if friending has become a verb to add to the Urban Dictionary, instead of being an actual person that you care about and want to spend time with.

Now I must admit, I’ve been sucked into the world of Facebook as well. I’m saying all of this out of consciousness of the fact that I am wasting precious time that I could be using to read or play my cello, but every time I’m on the computer, that little urge inside of me beckons me to that blasted website… and then it all starts again. The wasted hours, the burning eyes, and not to mention the endless narcissism… Facebook in my opinion is the epitome of the world’s narcissism, and the majority of Facebook users are, regrettably, Americans. What happened to America being the frontier of technology and new discoveries? How are we to be proud of a country that sits around on their butts all day socializing in a world that doesn’t exist?

I could say a lot more, but I don’t want to start sounding like I’m lecturing everyone. I’m simply making an observation. So the next time you get on the computer and have that urge to get on Facebook, please think about the world that you’re about to be sucked into. Is that the world you want to live in?

AtMM

2 thoughts on “Facebook- Where Has the Time Gone?

  1. Paul Morales says:

    wise beyond your years.

  2. aditty says:

    thank you:) facebook is just the beginning of a world called “the internet” that can be bad and good… but the way that I’ve been seeing people use it is bad, unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

